Posted by: chroniclesofgrace | January 6, 2011

Memorizing Scripture

I have had a desire to memorize Scripture since hearing a missionary wife while my hubby was in seminary talk about how she memorized huge chunks of the Bible knowing that at any moment it could be taken from her.  What would she rely on for God’s Word in her life to sustain her if she didn’t have access to a Bible?  Though this scenario may not seem likely at the moment in our country(some would debate that, but I won’t get political here), what about during a natural disaster or an ailment that prohibits reading or just needing to rely on God’s Word at any given moment to counsel others or your own heart?  We are incredibly “spoiled” in our country.  No other group of Christians in history has had more access to the Bible(most have multiple copies in their homes, on their computers and even phones now), commentaries, sermons, books, etc yet as a society we are some of the most Biblically illiterate.  I believe that we will be held to account for what we do and don’t do with these gifts & treasures that we’ve been given that would be the envy of others in history and even in other parts of the world today.

So one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to begin to memorize Scripture.  But where to start?  In the past I have memorized with my children from their Awana books, but felt I wanted larger chunks rather than isolated verses.  Then, God in His sovereignty pointed me to Ann Voskamp’s blog, A Holy Experience.  She has created a complete printable booklet and reading plan to memorize the book of Colossians in a year(and it’s FREE!).  What’s so awesome is that our church’s Women’s Bible Study will also be studying Colossians this semester!!(Don’t you love it when He organizes the smallest details?:)  So I have another one of my New Year’s Goals checked off – at least the how and what…Really praying that this is the beginning of a lifelong discipline. 

I have printed out multiple copies on cardstock.  I am keeping the current weekly verse in my Bible, in my kitchen, in my Well Planned Day planner and possibly my bathroom so I have no reason not to work on this (and others in the household may inadvertently memorize along with me:).  I’ll keep the past weeks on a binder ring for easy flipping. 

Edited to add:  Ann’s pdf file uses verses from the TNIV version of the Bible.  Since that is not the translation I use, I am using the NASB. 

I would love to hear how you work the discipline of Scripture memorization into your life!

Blessings!

-J

Responses

  1. I don’t think I added memorizing scripture to my goals for 2011 but I am certainly going to try to work on that. I am terrible at memorization. I spoke to women older than me that I really respect and she said to just focus on 2-3 passages a year. For some reason her telling me this lifted a weight. You mean I don’t have to memorize more!!? I think that when we train our brains to memorize then it will be easier the next time. Apparently I never trained my brain to memorize so I am having to work really hard. You would think all of those years of helping my kids with AWANA something would have sunk in.
    I recall things in impressions not specifics so I think that is why I can’t memorize easily. Or maybe that’s just an excuse. Either way I am going to work on it this year.
    So here are mine: Psalm 23, Proverbs 16:24 and Romans 8:28 ( I pretty much have this last one).

  2. […] I talked about my “system” for doing so here.  I also have continued to memorize the book of Colossians (though I will admit I’m a couple weeks behind schedule).  Over time – it was NOT easy […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

